top of page

Shitty First Blog Post


Reading Anne Lamott’s “Shitty First Drafts” connected to me personally from the first word because I have never been diligent about writing drafts throughout my years in school. I have always been the person that complained to the teacher in front of the whole class when they announced that a draft of the essay had to be turned in. However, all hope for me has not been lost as ever since starting college this summer and taking a literature class this summer I have begun to understand the importance of an intensive drafting process and how such a process can improve my writing. I feel that I try to hard to make my first draft perfect, so I don’t have to rewrite any of my work a second time instead of treating it as a “Child’s draft, where you let it all pour out,” (Lamott 1) The way that Lamott describes how even people who write for a living, dread writing at times, hit home with me as I know I feel that way sometimes. This solidarity allowed me to also take her advice on drafting with even more interest and belief. In the past I think my reluctance to draft has hurt my creativity and through the use of more intensive drafting in the future and being in this ENC2135 class I hope to be even more creative and effective in my writing.


About Me.

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page