top of page

Cross-Course Genres


The first thing I thought of was when reading Chapter One entitled, “Understanding Genres” was about a discussion that I had earlier today in my Introduction to the New Testament class. We discussed what genre the bible fit under and specifically what the purpose for the bible being written was as well as the audience that the bible was written for and the impact that this had on how it was written. I feel that this so-called case study, in conjunction with what I learned by reading this chapter have helped me gain an understanding of what genre is and how we use it to categorize compositions. It is very interesting to see how course material sometimes overlaps and leads to a better understanding of materials in each course. The Bible was a fantastic example because it is such a complex text that has such far-reaching impacts on so many people. Talking through the process of identifying the genre of the Bible in my other class was a valuable experience that will seemingly help me in this class. It also allowed me to see how important it is to identify the audience and purpose of apiece when attempting to classify it into a genre. All in all, it is fantastic when two classes converge and help your comprehension of material in both.


About Me.

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page