top of page

A Lobster Claw-full of Information


The main takeaway that I had from this article doesn’t really have to do with the actual material of the article and more so with the way it was written. Ultimately, as a fellow writer, I admire how David Foster Wallace took an issue that most would deem trivial in their right mind and made it into an issue that was intriguing, thought provoking, and debate inducing. He certainly did a lot of research and was rewarded with an impressive knowledge of the lobstering industry in Maine and the species itself. I feel that sometimes when writing, it is seemingly tough to find a balance between utilizing complete research in an effective manner and over-saturating a piece with boring facts that the reader has no real reason to care about. I personally have issues with finding this balance at times because I feel that I need to include as many statistics as possible to ensure that my point is being backed up sufficiently with empirical evidence. I feel that in the future, using “The Lobster” as a blueprint, I will be able to more easily find this balance and use it to my benefit when writing a piece that is based in extensive research and written using many pieces of factual information as possible.


About Me.

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page