top of page

Rationalization

For this project, I am again focusing on STEM Veterans USA which is a non-profit organization focused on mitigating the problem of veteran unemployment in the United States. One of the hallmarks of STEM Veterans USA is their dependence on student interns to fill important roles within the organization. As such it is important for STEM Veterans USA to recruit high quality interns to work within the company. That is why, for my multi-genre project, I chose to create a composition of three genres that is focused on how the STEM Veterans USA community recruits college students to serve as interns. One of the main selling points when trying to convince students to intern at STEM Veterans USA is that it will provide them with an impressive entry to their resumes. As such, one of my genres is the entry that is on resume from working at STEM Veterans USA. This allows prospective interns to see just what a job with STEM Veterans USA can do for your resume. Additionally, another one of my genres is a web page on my Wix site that is designed to outline the reasons that a student should intern at STEM Veterans USA. Clickbait articles use polarizing and simple headlines with great effectiveness. According to Kissmetrics, “a completely-legitimate research study of 69,907 showed that the most powerful headlines are polarizing. The stuff at the extremes, whether overly positive or overly negative, generated the most interest.” I wrote it in the model of the clickbait articles that you see on social media with a title of “Five Reasons an Internship at STEM Veterans USA is the Best Internship Opportunity You’ll Ever Find.” These articles are extremely popular with my generation and can be a short, concise way to point out the positives about something. Interpersonal communication is one of the best ways to convince people to take a certain course of action. In today’s and age social media is one of the most prevalent methods of intrapersonal communication. According to a Pew study, 82% of 18-29 year olds who have access to the Internet. My final genre drew on the power of social media as I wrote several Facebook posts about how rewarding my time at STEM Veterans USA has been. Hopefully, this might convince some of my friends to look into joining the organization.


About Me.

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page